• hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - result
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - result
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - result
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - detail
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - detail
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - detail
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - detail
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - before
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - making of
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - making of
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - making of
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - making of
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - artists
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - inauguration

This work honouring Armand Vaillancourt was produced by MU as part of its Tribute to Montreal’s Great Artists series. Since 2010, this mural series has been celebrating the creative talents who have made outstanding contributions to the local, national and international reach of the city’s cultural scene.

The mural honours the incredible œuvre of the artist Armand Vaillancourt, known for his distinct creativity and innovative techniques. His art is inseparable from his commitment to social and political causes. Sculptor, painter, performer, humanist, man of passion and freedom, his commitment to human rights, sensitivity and generosity have left their mark on our culture. The work is especially meaningful, as it is Armand Vaillancourt’s son, Alexis Vaillancourt, who chose the piece and was in charge of the mural’s creation. Auprès de mon arbre, je vivais heureux (1989) is an original work by Armand Vaillancourt © SOCAN (2020).

“I have always been very close to nature and the animals that played an important role in my youth. I drew hundreds and hundreds of objects that illustrated the presence of animals, magical beings and ghosts of my childhood. They come directly from my subconscious and steeped in symbolic meaning.” These explorations of Armand Vaillancourt’s fantastical animal world have inspired magnificent sculptures, installations, silkscreens and other works.

Realized by: Alexis Vaillancourt, Ludovic Marsolais-Viau, Martin Lavigne and Antoine Perreault



6740, Pierre-de Coubertin Montréal (QC) H1N 3N2 GET DIRECTIONS
6740, Pierre-de Coubertin Montréal (QC) H1N 3N2 GET DIRECTIONS
PARTNERS:

Artist - Alexis Vaillancourt

Clipping - Press release Armand Vaillancourt

• hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - final
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - final
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - final
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - détail
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - détail
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - détail
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - détail
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - avant
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - making-of
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - making-of
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - making-of
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - making-of
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - artistes
  • hommage à armand vaillancourt – alexis vaillancourt – 2020 - inauguration

Cette œuvre en hommage à Armand Vaillancourt a été produite par MU dans le cadre de sa collection Les bâtisseurs culturels montréalais. Lancée en 2010, cette collection de murales vise à reconnaître l’inestimable contribution des créateurs de la métropole de différentes disciplines artistiques au rayonnement local, national et international de la scène culturelle montréalaise.

La fresque souligne l’immense travail de l’artiste Armand Vaillancourt, qui se démarque par l’originalité de ses créations et de ses innovations techniques. Son art est indissociable de son engagement social et politique. Sculpteur, peintre, performeur, humaniste, homme de passion et de liberté, il a su marquer notre peuple par son engagement social pour les droits humains, sa sensibilité et sa générosité. L’œuvre a une signification toute particulière, car c’est le fils d’Armand Vaillancourt, Alexis Vaillancourt, qui l’a choisie et a été chargé de la réalisation de la murale. « Auprès de mon arbre, je vivais heureux » (1989) est une œuvre originale d’Armand Vaillancourt © SOCAN (2020).

« J’ai toujours été très près de la nature et des animaux qui ont occupé une part importante de ma jeunesse. J’ai dessiné des centaines et des centaines d’objets qui illustraient la présence d’animaux, d’êtres fabuleux et de fantômes de mon enfance. Ils viennent directement de mon subconscient et contiennent une valeur symbolique très chargée ». Ces explorations du bestiaire imaginaire d’Armand Vaillancourt ont inspiré de magnifiques sculptures, installations, sérigraphies et autres œuvres.

Réalisation : Alexis Vaillancourt, Ludovic Marsolais-Viau, Martin Lavigne et Antoine Perreault



6740, Pierre-de Coubertin Montréal (QC) H1N 3N2 OBTENIR L'ITINÉRAIRE
6740, Pierre-de Coubertin Montréal (QC) H1N 3N2 OBTENIR L'ITINÉRAIRE
PARTENAIRES:

Artiste - Alexis Vaillancourt